NATIONAL DOG DAY

    As you probably all know, today is National Dog Day-August 26th 2012. National Dog Day was founded in 2004 by pet lifestyle expert and pet author Colleen  Paige.It was created to celebrate and honor all dogs and to give them ” a special day”. This special day encourages all dog parents of all dog breeds to show appreciation for their long connection  to our furry canine friends.

National Dog Day encourages the opportunity for all dogs to live a  life filled with love and respect every day and one that is ” free  from abuse”.   National Dog Day is anti any form of breed ban and discourages anyone from buying pups from pet stores, backyard breeders, the internet,newspaper ads, puppy mills, but rather if seeking pure breeds, buying from reputable AKC breeders or adopting from shelters.

There are many alternatives such as adopting from pure breed rescue shelters  and giving dogs  that  second chance. Please try to  visit your local dog shelter  and adopting a furry best friend on National Dog Day.This day will also represent many  a canine’s birthday- similar to July 4th.Try to donate to a dog rescue on this day.Call 1-800-Flowers.com.

They are offering  a 10% discount on any arrangement.They are also giving back 10% to help shelter dogs.Should you happen to adopt  your furry best friend today, celebrate today as their birthday.     PLease adopt! A staggering 3-4 million healthy ,adoptable dogs are euthanized every year at shelters across the US.

Many are living off the streets, where they have been abandoned by families that once loved them as pups. American Humane Association’s Animal Welfare Research Institute released the results of a three part study and results indicated that  of the 117.5 million households in the US ., only 46.3 million are dog parents and only 38.9 million own a feline. To all   -HAPPY NATIONAL DOG DAY !

 

Abandoned Dog by Robert William Service
They dumped it on the lonely road,
Then like a streak they sped;
And as along the way I strode
I thought that it was dead:
And then I saw that yelping pup
Rise, race to catch them up.You know how silly wee dogs are.
It thought they were in fun.
Trying to overtake their car
I saw it run and run:
But as they faster, faster went,
It stumbled, sore and spent.I found it prone upon the way;
Of life was little token.
As limply in the dust it lay
I thought its heart was broken:
Then one dim eye it opened and
It sought to like my hand.Of course I took it gently up
And brought it to my wife
Who loves all dogs, and now that pup
Shares in our happy life:
Yet how I curse the bastards who
Its good luck never knew!

  Copyright © 2012 C.B

2 thoughts on “NATIONAL DOG DAY

  1. I had no idea there was such a thing as National Dog Day! I’m putting it on my calendar right now for next year and will celebrate it for sure! And by the way – I read the first line of the poem and could read no further….. I know it will make me cry. I wish I could adopt all of the homeless pets!!!

Leave a Reply

